Unfortunately, due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and associated public health orders and restrictions, the Mosman Art Prize will not proceed this year.

The Mosman Art Prize will return in 2022 and works produced after 1 July 2020 will be eligible for entry. Entries will open in June 2022. To be kept informed on the 2022 Mosman Art Prize please subscribe to the Gallery’s e-news by clicking here.

2022 will be the 75th anniversary of the first Mosman Art Prize and we look forward to celebrating this significant milestone in Australian painting.


Established in 1947, the Mosman Art Prize is Australia's oldest and most prestigious local government art award. It was founded by the artist, architect and arts advocate, Alderman Allan Gamble, at a time when only a small handful of art prizes were in existence in Australia and the community had very little support and few opportunities to exhibit their work.

As an acquisitive art award for painting, the winning artworks collected form a significant collection of modern and contemporary Australian art, reflecting all the developments in Australian art practice since 1947. Artists who have won the Mosman Art Prize include Margaret Olley, Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Elisabeth Cummings, Guan Wei, Michael Zavros, Natasha Walsh and Salote Tawale.


  • Mosman Art Prize (major acquisitive prize) - $50,000
  • Margaret Olley Commendation Award supported by Gillian and the late Brian Jones - $6,000
  • Allan Gamble Award supported by Christine and the late Hugh Fraser - $3,000
  • Guy Warren Emerging Artist Award (under 35) supported by Fourth Village Providore - $2,000
  • Viewers’ Choice Award supported by Mosman Art Society - $1,000

To find out more about the history of Mosman Art Prize click here.



Banner image: 2020 Mosman Art Prize. Photo by Tim Connolly

Wednesday 20 October - Sunday 12 December