## MOSMAN MUNICIPAL COUNCIL

Community Development
PO Box 211
SPIT JUNCTION NSW 2088

Telephone No. (02) 9978 4000 Facsimile No. (02) 9978 4132 E-mail: council@mosman.nsw.gov.au

## PRESS RELEASE

Date:	5 July 2010
Subject:	2010 Mosman Art Prize
Date of Release:	For immediate release
Further Enquiries To:	Julie Petersen 9978 4186 j.petersen@mosman.nsw.gov.au

## 2010 Mosman Art Prize

## Mosman Art Gallery 31 July – 29 August

From 31 July to 29 August, 2010 the Mosman Art Gallery will present the 63rd annual **Mosman Art Prize**, the longest running and most prestigious municipal art prize in Australia. The winning entries form the basis of the Mosman Art Collection, a valuable and historic collection which surveys Australian painting since 1947.

Each year close to 900 entries are received in one day at the Mosman Art Gallery. Many artists have boosted their careers through winning the prize and continue to submit new works each year. The *Mosman Art Prize* attracts a diverse and accomplished field of professional and amateur artists from all over Australia.

Last year, the inaugural 1947 prize winner Margaret Olley was the guest judge for the competition. This year there will be a change of pace with judge Kon Gouriotis OAM who is the Director of Visual Arts at the Australian Council for the Arts. Previously, Kon was Executive Director of the Casula Powerhouse where he made a significant contribution to the development of the arts centre and raised the profile and experience of visual arts in western Sydney. "Kon is one of the most distinguished people working in the visual arts in Australia today", say Director of Mosman Art Gallery, John Cheeseman. "He has a thorough knowledge of the sector from the grassroots up and has a keen eye when it comes to spotting talent. Kon recognizes the importance of the Mosman Art Prize in the overall support and development of Australian Art and his adjudication of this year's Prize adds to its reputation and prestige."

Past adjudicators also include notable Australian art figures such as Margaret Preston, John Olsen, Tim Storrier, Jenny Sages, Edmund Capon and John McDonald.

Please note all information is correct at time of release

Press Release Page 2

Artists who have won the *Mosman Art Prize* include Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Elisabeth Cummings, Tim Johnson, Guan Wei, Adam Cullen and Lucy Culliton. The 2009 Mosman Art Prize was won by Alexander Lavroff.

For many of these winning artists the Prize provided inspiration and encouragement to press on with their work, giving them recognition, and more often than not, crucial financial assistance. With his prize money, Guy Warren was able to travel to London to continue his art studies and Lucy Culliton was able to build her studio.

The Mosman Art Prize is an acquisitive award of \$20,000 sponsored by Mosman Council. The Council also provides a 'Commendation Prize' of \$1,000, and the 'Viewers' Choice Award' of \$1,000 is sponsored by Mosman Toyota. The 'Young Emerging Artists Award' (under 35 years), also \$1,000, is personally sponsored by Amanda Phillips.

In addition to the major prize of \$20,000, Mosman Council also sponsors the Allan Gamble Memorial Art Prize. An accomplished architect and artist, and Mosman Councillor for 24 years, Allan Gamble was the founder of the Mosman Art Prize. Valued at \$3,000 (non-acquisitive), this prize will be awarded to the best painting, which explores the theme of 'the built environment'.

The official opening and announcement of the *2010 Mosman Art Prize* will take place on Friday, 30 July, beginning at 6.30pm at the Mosman Art Gallery.

**END** 

Public Programs Winning Artists Talk

Date to be confirmed: Bookings (02) 9978 4178

Free exhibition tour by the Gallery Guides

Sunday 8 August 11am

For further media enquiries please contact:

John Cheeseman, Gallery Director (02) 9978 4009 Julie Petersen, Curator & Public Programs Coordinator (02) 9978 4186