Mosman Art Prize

The Mosman Art Prize is an annual, acquisitive award for painting sponsored by Mosman Municipal Council. Established in 1947, the Prize is one of the oldest and most prestigious, local government art awards in Australia. The winning works form an important collection of modern and contemporary art, reflecting developments in Australian art practice over the last half a century.

Artists who have won the Mosman Art Prize include Margaret Olley, Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Anthony Galbraith, Elisabeth Cummings, Tim Johnson and Guan Wei. Past adjudicators also include notable Australian art figures such as Margaret Preston, John Olsen, Tim Storrier, Jenny Sages and Edmund Capon.

For entry to the 2017 Mosman Art Prize click here

Mosman Youth Art Prize

This annual competition was initiated in 1988 by the internationally renowned artist and local resident Ken Done AM. The Prize is open to all young people aged 12-21 years and is one of the richest Youth Art Prizes in Australia. The competition is aimed at encouraging the creative talents of young people and providing a showcase for their works and is open to receive entries in any media. Prizes are awarded according to age group – Junior 12 – 14, Senior 15 – 17, Tertiary 18 – 21. Over $14,000 in cash prizes, scholarships and art materials are awarded each year.

Mosman Youth Art Prize 2017

Mosman Youth Art Prize is on exhibition in 2017 from 25 March – 13 April.  Entry forms will be available on-line now (click here). Receipt of entries is on Monday 13 March and the prize announcements and opening night will be on Friday 31 March, 6.30pm.

Featured image - Winner of Mosman Art Prize 2015 Alan Jones, Painting 131 (North Coogee), 2015