John Bartley

Bull Ants, Blowflies and Burnt Chops, 1990

Mosman Art Prize

Established in 1947, the Mosman Art Prize is Australia's oldest and most prestigious local government art award.  It was founded by the artist, architect and arts advocate, Alderman Allan Gamble, at a time when only a small handful of art prizes were in existence in Australia and the community had very little support and few opportunities to exhibit their work. 

Over the past 71 years the Mosman Art Prize has developed in stature to become Australia’s most prestigious municipally funded art prize with a national profile. As an acquisitive art award for painting, the winning artworks collected since 1947 form a splendid collection of modern and contemporary Australian art, reflecting all the developments in Australian art practice since 1947.

The inaugural winner in 1947 was a young Margaret Olley. Since the prize has been won by scores of artists including Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Anthony Galbraith, Elisabeth Cummings, Tim Johnson, Guan Wei and Michael Zavros among many others. Past adjudicators also include notable Australian art figures such as Margaret Preston, John Olsen, Tim Storrier, Jenny Sages and Edmund Capon.

David Griggs

The stitches and the melanoma, 2023

Jacobus Capone

Spring 2021, 2022

Salote Tawale

Mangroves, 2020

Paul Kelleher

The party is over, 2019

Natasha Walsh

The cicada, 2018


Some kind of record, 2016

Michael Zavros

Flora, 2016

Alan Jones

Painting 131 (North Coogee), 2015

Michael Muir

Past the Stacks, 2014

Rachel Ellis

Bathurst Landscape - William Street, 2013

David Fairbairn

Seated Figure JB with Orange Ground, 2012

Kerrie Lester

Out on a Limb, 2011