JUMAADI wins 2017 Mosman Art Prize in its 70th Year!

Huge congratulations are due to Sydney based artist Jumaadi for taking out the $50,000 Mosman Art Prize in its 70th year, with his prize winning artwork Some kind of record, 2017.

The Indonesian born Australian artist calls Mosman his home. Jumaadi is a rising star on the international contemporary arts scene and his artwork now joins a host of others by Australian art luminaries held within the Mosman Art Collection. Congratulations Jumaadi!

Some kind of record, 2017
Acrylic painted on found filing boards
118 x 99 cm


The $10,000 Margaret Olley Award (Commendation) won by Aboriginal artist Helen McCarthy Tyalmuty's for her large acrylic work My family's journey, 2017. Helen is a Batjamal woman currently based in Alice Springs.


Helen McCarthy Tyalmuty
My family's journey, 2017
Acrylic on linen
99 x 200cm


The $3,000 Allan Gamble Memorial Art Award with the theme of the Built Environment won by Glen Locklee (Sydney) for his painting Urban industrial fragments, 2017.

Glenn Locklee
Urban industrial fragments, 2017
Oil on aluminium
160 x 95cm


The $2,000 Fourth Village Providore Emerging Artist Award won by Clara Adolphs (Sydney) for her portrait Sal, 2016. This is the second occasion on which she has won this award.

Clara Adolphs
Sal, 2017
Oil on linen
83 x 67cm


Congratulations to all the 88 finalists and this year's winners!

Remember the exhibition is open until Sunday 29 October and you too can vote for your favourite artwork. The artist who receives the most votes will win the Mosman Art Society Viewers' Choice Award. Selected artworks are also available for sale - it’s a great way to build your personal art collection.




MAJOR PRIZE NOW $50,000 in celebration of the Mosman Art Prizes' 70th year!

The 2017 Mosman Art Prize will be judged by Kirsten Paisley, Deputy Director, National Gallery of Australia

  • Mosman Art Prize (major acquisitive prize) sponsored by Mosman Council - $50,000
  • Margaret Olley Award sponsored by Margaret Olley Trust - $10,000
  • Allan Gamble Memorial Art Award sponsored by Mosman Council - $3,000
  • Fourth Village Providore Emerging Artist Award (under 35) - $2,000
  • Mosman Art Society Viewers' Choice Award - $1,000


Congratulations to the finalists for the 2017 Mosman Art Prize.  With over 750 artworks received this year, the judge Kirsten Paisley, Deputy Director of the National Gallery of Australia had the very difficult task of selecting 88 artworks as finalists for the exhibition.

The Mosman Art Prize exhibition will be open to the public for viewing from Saturday 23 September until Sunday 29 October 2017.

The much anticipated announcement of the awards including the $50,000 Acquisitive First Prize, $10,000 Margaret Olley Award, $3,000 Allan Gamble Award and the $2,000 Emerging Artist Award will take place on Thursday 28 September.

Below is the list of 2017 Mosman Art Prize Finalists

Mosman Art Prize selected entries 2017.pdf

If your artwork does not appear in this list you must come and collect it from the Mosman Art Gallery between Tuesday 19 September and Wednesday 20 September between the hours of 10am – 6pm and Thursday 21 September between the hours of 10am – 7pm.  

Courier works must be collected on Wednesday 20 September or Thursday 21 September between 10am – 5pm. Works not collected cannot be stored at the Gallery so collection on these dates is essential for the safety of the artwork.

Mosman Art Gallery is thrilled to announce that in 2017 the Mosman Art Prize will celebrate its 70th year!

Established in 1947, the Mosman Art Prize is Australia's oldest and most prestigious local government art award.  It was founded by the artist, architect and arts advocate, Alderman Allan Gamble, at a time when only a small handful of art prizes were in existence in Australia and the community had very little support and few opportunities to exhibit their work. 

Over the past seventy years the Mosman Art Prize has developed in stature to become Australia’s most prestigious municipally funded art prize with a national profile. It regularly attracts over 900 entries annually and currently offers over $60,000 in prizes.

As an acquisitive art award for painting, the winning artworks collected since 1947 form a splendid collection of modern and contemporary Australian art, reflecting all the developments in Australian art practice since 1947.

The inaugural winner in 1947 was a young Margaret Olley. Since the prize has been won by scores of artists including Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Anthony Galbraith, Elisabeth Cummings, Tim Johnson, Guan Wei and Michael Zavros among many others. Past adjudicators also include notable Australian art figures such as Margaret Preston, John Olsen, Tim Storrier, Jenny Sages and Edmund Capon.

Now in its 70th year the Mosman Art Prize is more relevant than ever before and continues to sit at the centre of contemporary painting practice and is a not to be missed event on the nation's cultural agenda.


The 2017 Mosman Art Prize is proudly supported by Haigh's chocolates.


Saturday 23 September - Sunday 29 October

Mosman Art Gallery