The annual exhibition will take place 23 September – 29 October.

The Mosman Art Prize is the longest running and most prestigious municipal art prize in Australia. Winning entries form the basis of the Mosman Art Collection, a valuable and historic collection that
surveys Australian painting since 1947. The Mosman Art Prize is an acquisitive award of $50,000 sponsored by Mosman Council. Previous winners form a roll call of Australian art luminaries; Grace Cossington Smith, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Guy Warren, Margo Lewers, Jenny Sages, Noel McKenna, Cressida Campbell, Jumaadi, Elisabeth Cummings, Adam Cullen, Jasper Knight, Guan Wei, Natasha Walsh and Michael Zavros.

The judge of the prize is artist Fiona Lowry. 
We are thrilled to announce artist Fiona Lowry as the judge of the 2023 Mosman Art Prize. Fiona is best known for her contemporary rendering of two traditional genres: landscape and portraiture. She is an Archibald Prize winner for her portrait of Penelope Seidler in 2014, and has been a regular exhibitor in the Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes. Her work has been acquired by institutions across the country such as the Museum of Contemporary Art, Australia; the National Gallery of Australia; the National Portrait Gallery; Artbank and many more.

Winner, 2023 Mosman Art Prize
David Griggs
The stitches and the melanoma, 2023
oil on canvas 
137.5 x 102

Margaret Olley Commendation Award
Huseyin Sami
Bucket Painting, 2022
synthetic polymer paint on canvas
152 x 122 cm

Allan Gamble Award
Lewis Ihnatko
Red River, 2023
synthetic polymer paint on canvas
71 x 51 cm

Guy Warren Emerging Artist Award
Heath Nock
The Weirdos, 2023
oil on linen
122 x 102 cm


See the judge, Fiona Lowry's report 

See the complete list of


and the


If you have any enquiries please call Althea on 0419 784 030 or email: 


Image: Mosman Art Prize, 2022, installation view, image courtesy and © Mosman Art Gallery. Photograph: Jacquie Manning. 

Saturday 23 September - Sunday 29 October

Mosman Art Gallery