Mosman Art Prize

Established in 1947, the Mosman Art Prize is Australia's oldest and most prestigious local government art award. It was founded by the artist, architect and arts advocate, Alderman Allan Gamble, at a time when only a small handful of art prizes were in existence in Australia and the community had very little support and few opportunities to exhibit their work.

As an acquisitive art award for painting, the winning artworks collected form a significant collection of modern and contemporary Australian art, reflecting all the developments in Australian art practice since 1947. Artists who have won the Mosman Art Prize include Margaret Olley, Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Elisabeth Cummings, Guan Wei, Michael Zavros, Natasha Walsh and Salote Tawale.

Unfortunately due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and associated public health orders and restrictions, the Mosman Art Prize will not proceed in 2021. The Mosman Art Prize will return in 2022 and works produced after 1 July 2020 will be eligible for entry. Entries will open in June 2022. To be kept informed on the 2022 Mosman Art Prize please subscribe to the Gallery’s e-news by clicking here.

2022 will be the 75th anniversary of the first Mosman Art Prize and we look forward to celebrating this significant milestone in Australian painting.

See recent winners:

For a full archive of all Mosman Art Prize winning works which are now part of the Mosman Art Collection click here.

Banner image: Michael Zavros, Flora (detail), 2016, oil on aluminium. Winner, 2016 Mosman Art Prize.