Nancy Borlase

Drift, 1961

Mosman Art Prize

Established in 1947, the Mosman Art Prize is Australia's oldest and most prestigious local government art award.  It was founded by the artist, architect and arts advocate, Alderman Allan Gamble, at a time when only a small handful of art prizes were in existence in Australia and the community had very little support and few opportunities to exhibit their work. 

Over the past 71 years the Mosman Art Prize has developed in stature to become Australia’s most prestigious municipally funded art prize with a national profile. As an acquisitive art award for painting, the winning artworks collected since 1947 form a splendid collection of modern and contemporary Australian art, reflecting all the developments in Australian art practice since 1947.

The inaugural winner in 1947 was a young Margaret Olley. Since the prize has been won by scores of artists including Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Anthony Galbraith, Elisabeth Cummings, Tim Johnson, Guan Wei and Michael Zavros among many others. Past adjudicators also include notable Australian art figures such as Margaret Preston, John Olsen, Tim Storrier, Jenny Sages and Edmund Capon.

Craig Waddell

I Remember You As You Were My Beauty, 2010

Alexander Lavroff

Amish Bucket with Capsicums in Colander, 2009

Jasper Knight

Wharf with Yellow Palings, 2008

James Powditch

Butterfly Effects, 2007

Fan Dongwang

Descendant, 2006

Tom Carment

Ships at Sea (W.A.), 2005

Adam Cullen

Surfer Joe was Light Horse, 2005

Peter Godwin

The Duck Salon/A Memory, 2004

Noel McKenna

5 Birds, 2003

Roy Jackson

Gulgan Flats, 2002

Guan Wei

Gazing into Deep Space No.8 (1-3), 2001

Lucy Culliton

Still Life/ White Ground, 2000