Some kind of record, 2016

Mosman Art Prize

Established in 1947, the Mosman Art Prize is Australia's oldest and most prestigious local government art award.  It was founded by the artist, architect and arts advocate, Alderman Allan Gamble, at a time when only a small handful of art prizes were in existence in Australia and the community had very little support and few opportunities to exhibit their work. 

Over the past 71 years the Mosman Art Prize has developed in stature to become Australia’s most prestigious municipally funded art prize with a national profile. As an acquisitive art award for painting, the winning artworks collected since 1947 form a splendid collection of modern and contemporary Australian art, reflecting all the developments in Australian art practice since 1947.

The inaugural winner in 1947 was a young Margaret Olley. Since the prize has been won by scores of artists including Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Anthony Galbraith, Elisabeth Cummings, Tim Johnson, Guan Wei and Michael Zavros among many others. Past adjudicators also include notable Australian art figures such as Margaret Preston, John Olsen, Tim Storrier, Jenny Sages and Edmund Capon.

Geoff Wright

Paintbrush - Apologies to Jim Dine, 1980

David Hawkes

Florin Subsides, 1980

Graham Reece

The Elements, 1979

Janet Dawson

The Hawk and the Cloud, 1979

Richard Hook

Study No. 2, 1978

Lesley Haslewood Pockley

Still Life, 1978

Aileen Rogers

Therese Delanty, 1977

Ruth Faerber

Echo, 1977

John Lethbridge

Slipshod, 1976

Max Miller

Frieze, 1976

Alan Oldfield

Ocean Cruise, 1974

Graham Kuo

Reflection I, 1974