Patricia Englund

Flight of Herons, 1969

Mosman Art Prize

Established in 1947, the Mosman Art Prize is Australia's oldest and most prestigious local government art award.  It was founded by the artist, architect and arts advocate, Alderman Allan Gamble, at a time when only a small handful of art prizes were in existence in Australia and the community had very little support and few opportunities to exhibit their work. 

Over the past 71 years the Mosman Art Prize has developed in stature to become Australia’s most prestigious municipally funded art prize with a national profile. As an acquisitive art award for painting, the winning artworks collected since 1947 form a splendid collection of modern and contemporary Australian art, reflecting all the developments in Australian art practice since 1947.

The inaugural winner in 1947 was a young Margaret Olley. Since the prize has been won by scores of artists including Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Anthony Galbraith, Elisabeth Cummings, Tim Johnson, Guan Wei and Michael Zavros among many others. Past adjudicators also include notable Australian art figures such as Margaret Preston, John Olsen, Tim Storrier, Jenny Sages and Edmund Capon.

David Rose

Peach Bowl, 1973

Joan Brassil

Creative Tension III - Cell Division, 1973

Ruth Faerber

Between Time, 1972

Ross Jackson

1970 - L, 1972

Reinis Zusters

Urban Episode, 1971

Earle Backen

Space Structure and Moving Circles, 1971

William Peascod

Stele, 1970

Earle Backen

Ancient Structure, 1970

Stuart Maxwell

Slant, 1969

Patricia Englund

Flight of Herons, 1969

Clinton Starr

Collage I, 1969

Shirley Crapp

Spiritual Presence, 1968