Henry Salkauskas

Landscape, 1963

Mosman Art Prize

Established in 1947, the Mosman Art Prize is Australia's oldest and most prestigious local government art award.  It was founded by the artist, architect and arts advocate, Alderman Allan Gamble, at a time when only a small handful of art prizes were in existence in Australia and the community had very little support and few opportunities to exhibit their work. 

Over the past 71 years the Mosman Art Prize has developed in stature to become Australia’s most prestigious municipally funded art prize with a national profile. As an acquisitive art award for painting, the winning artworks collected since 1947 form a splendid collection of modern and contemporary Australian art, reflecting all the developments in Australian art practice since 1947.

The inaugural winner in 1947 was a young Margaret Olley. Since the prize has been won by scores of artists including Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Anthony Galbraith, Elisabeth Cummings, Tim Johnson, Guan Wei and Michael Zavros among many others. Past adjudicators also include notable Australian art figures such as Margaret Preston, John Olsen, Tim Storrier, Jenny Sages and Edmund Capon.

Michael Farrell

L. Alcool de Serpent Casse, 1985

Frederick Cress

Whisperings No. 18, 1985

Susan Sheridan

Coastline, 1984

Peter Hickey

Frazzled Emu, 1984

Greg Hansell

Tin Shadows No. 11, 1984

Judith White

Pitt Street, 1983

Bettina McMahon

The Water Carriers, 1983

Frank McNamara

Monaro District, 1983

Ruth Faerber

Relic II, 1982

Jacki Fewtrell

Venetian Wilderness, 1982

Chris Johnson

Winter Landscape, 1981

Lloyd Rees

Breezy Day, Lane Cove, 1981