Joseph Szabo

Without - Within IV, 1968

Mosman Art Prize

Established in 1947, the Mosman Art Prize is Australia's oldest and most prestigious local government art award.  It was founded by the artist, architect and arts advocate, Alderman Allan Gamble, at a time when only a small handful of art prizes were in existence in Australia and the community had very little support and few opportunities to exhibit their work. 

Over the past 71 years the Mosman Art Prize has developed in stature to become Australia’s most prestigious municipally funded art prize with a national profile. As an acquisitive art award for painting, the winning artworks collected since 1947 form a splendid collection of modern and contemporary Australian art, reflecting all the developments in Australian art practice since 1947.

The inaugural winner in 1947 was a young Margaret Olley. Since the prize has been won by scores of artists including Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Anthony Galbraith, Elisabeth Cummings, Tim Johnson, Guan Wei and Michael Zavros among many others. Past adjudicators also include notable Australian art figures such as Margaret Preston, John Olsen, Tim Storrier, Jenny Sages and Edmund Capon.

Henry Salkauskas

Landscape, 1963

David Rose

Sisyphus, 1963

Charles Reddington

Wonders and Workings of a New Place, 1963

Peter Laverty

Evening Landscape with Water, 1962

Uldis Abolins

City in Ruins, 1962

James Granger Phillips

Blue's Point, 1962

Nancy Borlase

Drift, 1961

Peter Laverty

Forgotten Landscape, Hill End, 1961

Charles (Strom) Gould

The Pub Counter, 1961

Martins Gauja

Prisoner, 1960

Margo Lewers

Composition In Blue, 1960

Weaver Hawkins

The Forwards, 1960