James Powditch

Butterfly Effects, 2007

Mosman Art Prize

Established in 1947, the Mosman Art Prize is Australia's oldest and most prestigious local government art award.  It was founded by the artist, architect and arts advocate, Alderman Allan Gamble, at a time when only a small handful of art prizes were in existence in Australia and the community had very little support and few opportunities to exhibit their work. 

Over the past 71 years the Mosman Art Prize has developed in stature to become Australia’s most prestigious municipally funded art prize with a national profile. As an acquisitive art award for painting, the winning artworks collected since 1947 form a splendid collection of modern and contemporary Australian art, reflecting all the developments in Australian art practice since 1947.

The inaugural winner in 1947 was a young Margaret Olley. Since the prize has been won by scores of artists including Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Anthony Galbraith, Elisabeth Cummings, Tim Johnson, Guan Wei and Michael Zavros among many others. Past adjudicators also include notable Australian art figures such as Margaret Preston, John Olsen, Tim Storrier, Jenny Sages and Edmund Capon.

Joseph Szabo

Without - Within IV, 1968

Ronald Lambert

The Dogon, 1967

Joe Rose

The Cloak, 1967

Elizabeth Rooney

View from Gloucester Street, 1966

Eva Kubbos

Tower, 1966

Earle Backen

Dust Storm, 1965

Guy Warren

Moon at Mungo Brush, 1965

Henry Salkauskas

Painting, 1965

Henry Salkauskas

Behind is Always the Sun, 1964

E. Colin Williams

Landslide, 1964

Eva Kubbos

Autumn Games, 1964