Joe Rose

The Cloak, 1967

Established in 1947, the Mosman Art Prize is Australia's oldest and most prestigious local government art award.  It was founded by the artist, architect and arts advocate, Alderman Allan Gamble, at a time when only a small handful of art prizes were in existence in Australia and the community had very little support and few opportunities to exhibit their work. 

Over the past 71 years the Mosman Art Prize has developed in stature to become Australia’s most prestigious municipally funded art prize with a national profile. As an acquisitive art award for painting, the winning artworks collected since 1947 form a splendid collection of modern and contemporary Australian art, reflecting all the developments in Australian art practice since 1947.

The inaugural winner in 1947 was a young Margaret Olley. Since the prize has been won by scores of artists including Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Anthony Galbraith, Elisabeth Cummings, Tim Johnson, Guan Wei and Michael Zavros among many others. Past adjudicators also include notable Australian art figures such as Margaret Preston, John Olsen, Tim Storrier, Jenny Sages and Edmund Capon.

Hayward Veal

Noon, Montmartre, Paris, 1955

Ronald Fletcher

No Thoroughfare, 1955

Roy Fluke

Bridge Construction, 1954

Enid Cambridge

Bush Creek, 1954

J. Richard Ashton

Wollongong Boat Harbour, 1953

Muriel Medworth

Summer Gone, 1953

Grace Cossington Smith

Gum Blossom and Drapery, 1952

Weaver Hawkins

A Country Road, Bayview, 1952

Francis Lymburner

Circular Quay, 1951

Carl Plate

Coming of the Locusts, 1951

Jean Isherwood

Trees, Palm Beach, 1950

Guy Warren

Valley of the Albert, Queensland, 1950