James Powditch

Butterfly Effects, 2007

Established in 1947, the Mosman Art Prize is Australia's oldest and most prestigious local government art award.  It was founded by the artist, architect and arts advocate, Alderman Allan Gamble, at a time when only a small handful of art prizes were in existence in Australia and the community had very little support and few opportunities to exhibit their work. 

Over the past 71 years the Mosman Art Prize has developed in stature to become Australia’s most prestigious municipally funded art prize with a national profile. As an acquisitive art award for painting, the winning artworks collected since 1947 form a splendid collection of modern and contemporary Australian art, reflecting all the developments in Australian art practice since 1947.

The inaugural winner in 1947 was a young Margaret Olley. Since the prize has been won by scores of artists including Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Anthony Galbraith, Elisabeth Cummings, Tim Johnson, Guan Wei and Michael Zavros among many others. Past adjudicators also include notable Australian art figures such as Margaret Preston, John Olsen, Tim Storrier, Jenny Sages and Edmund Capon.

Leonas Urbonas

Mother, 1959

Margo Lewers

Abstraction, 1959

Louis Kahan

Rain, Boulevarde St. Denis, 1959

Weaver Hawkins

Learning Language, 1958

Roy Fluke

Steel Plant, 1958

Thomas Gleghorn

Fragment of the Crucifixion, 1958

Ursula Laverty

Horse with Anatomy, 1957

Elwyn Lynn

Spring Still Life, 1957

Frederic Bates

Night Trains, 1957

Maximillian Feuerring

Odalisque, 1956

Theodore De Roty Fodone

Afternoon Expressions, Kings Cross, 1956

Frank Hinder

Monkies, 1956